The Mississippi Water Resources Research Institute provides a statewide center of expertise in water and associated land-use and serves as a repository of knowledge for use in education, research, planning, and community service.

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

About Us

Located on the campus of Mississippi State University, the Institute administers and coordinates research programs dealing with water and related resources. (It is one of the state institutes authorized by Section 104 of The Water Resources Research Act of 1984). Its activities are developed in close consultation and collaboration between the Institute and leading water resources officials within the State.

The purpose of the program is to provide a coordinated research and development program that contributes to the solution of water and water-related land use problems in Mississippi, the region, and the nation.

The Institute's Goals

  • to provide a center of expertise in water and associated land-use problems and serve as a repository of knowledge for use in education, research, planning, and community service
  • to serve public and private interests in the conservation, development, and use of water resources
  • to provide training opportunities in higher education whereby skilled professionals become available to serve government and private sector alike
  • to assist planning and regulatory bodies at the local, state, regional, and federal levels
  • to communicate research findings to potential users in a form that encourages quick comprehension and direct application to a water-related problem
  • to assist state agencies in the development and maintenance of a state water management plan

Advisory Board

The Honorable Sam Britton
Mississippi Public Service Commission

Mr. Tom Bryant
Pickering Incorporated

Dr. Don Christy
Yazoo Mississippi Delta Joint Water Management District

Dr. Pat Deliman

Mr. Mike Freiman
Director, Surface Water Division, Office of Pollution Control, Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality

Mr. W. Scott Gain
Acting District Chief, US Geological Survey

Mr. Mark Gilbert
Executive Director, Mississippi Soil & Water Conservation Commission

Mr. Lester Herrington
Mississippi State Department of Health

Mr. Frank Howell
Delta Council

Dr. Martin Locke
Agricultural Research Service National Sedimentation Laboratory

Mr. Kirby Mayfield
CEO, Mississippi Rural Water Association

Dr. Jami Nettles
Weyerhaeuser Company

Mr. Jimmy Palmer, Jr.
Attorney At Law (at large member)

Mr. George Ramseur, Jr.
Mississippi Department of Marine Resources

Mr. Kurt Readus
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service

Mr. Thomas W. Richardson
Deputy Director, Center for Excellence, Analysis and Response For Coastal Hazards Jackson State University

Dr. Alan Shiller
University of Southern Mississippi

Mr. John Sigman
General Manager, Pearl River Valley Water Supply District

Dr. LaDon Swann
Director, MS-AL SeaGrant Consortium

Mr. Andy Whittington
Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation

Ms. Kay Whittington
Director, Office of Land and Water Resources, Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality

Dr. Kristine Willett
University of Mississippi